Skip to content

Ooops.

October 18, 2010

So, after being at school from 8:30 a.m. until 4:45 p.m., <with no classes, mind you> I decided I would come home and bake something with cranberries.  I love cranberries, and I wanted to do something with the bag of fresh cranberries that had been sitting in my fridge for about 2 weeks.

I chose Ina Garten’s Cranberry Orange Scones.  The reviews were wonderful, the ingredients were pretty basic, and it made a big enough recipe that Hunter and I could enjoy but I could still take a dozen or so to my class on Wednesday morning.

Turns out that my oven is WAY hotter than it says on the dial, and not only did the scones turn completely black on the bottom, but the parchment paper was literally black.  After a bit of research, I discovered that the parchment paper might be the problem:  according to this site, you can’t use parchment paper over 400 degrees (the temperature called for in the recipe above).  Thus, a too hot oven + parchment paper = black-bottomed scones.

NEWSFLASH:  This is my first post-marriage cooking disaster, and we handled it pretty well (considering).

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

